Spanish II Grammar Review Notes for REPASOS E-G. Irregular GO Verbs

Tamaño: px
Comenzar la demostración a partir de la página:

Download "Spanish II Grammar Review Notes for REPASOS E-G. Irregular GO Verbs"

Transcripción

1 Hora: Nombre: Profesora: Sra. Doucette Fecha: Test on 10/02/2013 Spanish II Grammar Review Notes for REPASOS E-G Irregular GO Verbs This group of verbs is only irregular in the: 1 st person singular yo form. The irregularity in each of these verbs involves a g and a spelling change in the stem of the verb. Their endings are the regular ER / IR verb endings. HACER to do (make) PONER to put hago hacemos pongo ponemos haces hacéis pones ponéis hace hacen pone ponen TRAER to bring SALIR to depart / leave DECIR to tell traigo traemos salgo salimos digo decimos traes traéis sales salís dices decís trae traen sale salen dice dicen Hago un sándwich. - I make a sandwich. Qué haces tú? What do you do? (What are you doing?) *note that it needs a different verb to answer Qué haces tú? Qué hace Teresa? Trabajo en el aeropuerto. / Leo un libro. Teresa mira la pantalla de salidas. Idiomatic Expressions with hacer: Hacer la maleta. To pack a suitcase. Hacer un viaje. To take a trip. Hace # días. # days ago some weather expressions with hacer: hace frío/calor it is cold/hot hace sol it is sunny hace viento it is windy Venir is a go verb with an e to ie stem change in 3 of its forms It works just like Tener, but is an ir verb... VENIR To come TENER To have DECIR To say or tell vengo venimos tengo tenemos Digo decimos vienes venís tienes tenéis Dices decís viene vienen tiene tienen dice dicen REPASOS E-G Página 1

2 Notes - Present Progressive This verb tense is used to describe an action that is happening right now as we are watching. It is equal to our -ing ending verb clauses in English: I am running. I am talking. The plane is landing. In Spanish we use the verb estar and a present participle to form a verb clause that indicates immediate action. Estar to be estoy estamos estás estáis está están + Present Participle (formed by adding ando (AR verbs) or -iendo (ER/IR verbs) to the stem of a verb.. BOTH PARTS ARE NECESSARY AND FORM THE VERB CLAUSE. The participles of the verbs traer and leer are slightly modified due to a triple vowel combination when trying to add iendo to the stem trayendo leyendo Mi hermano está trayendo las mochilas. Estoy leyendo el libro de historia. Mi brother is bringing the backbacks. I am reading the history book. Saber vs Conocer To Know Facts and People In Spanish, there are two verbs that express the idea "to know." These two verbs are "saber" and "conocer." The verb you choose depends upon the context in which it is used. These verbs are not interchangeable. The correct use of saber and conocer can be summarized as follows: SABER To know a fact, to know something thoroughly, to know how to do something. CONOCER To be acquainted with a person, place, or thing. To Be Familiar with Don't forget that Saber & Conocer have an irregular "yo" form! SABER - TO KNOW FACTS CONJUGATIONS OF SABER AND CONOCER CONOCER - TO KNOW PEOPLE sé sabemos conozco conocemos sabes sabéis conoces conocéis sabe saben conoce conocen REPASOS E-G Página 2

3 The verbs ser and estar You know that both ser and estar mean to be. You have seen that their uses, however, are different. Ser Estar (yo) soy (nosotros/as) somos (yo) estoy (nosotros/as) estamos (tú) eres (vosotros/as) sois (tú) estás (vosotros/as) estáis (ud./él/ella) es (uds./ellos/ellas) son (ud./él/ella) está (uds./ellos/ellas) están SER DOCTOR! 1. Description - These are the essential qualities that define a person and probably won t change. They can be a name or a physical description. Yo soy alta, morena, y delgada. 2. Occupation - Use when telling occupation or when identifying who someone is. Ella es profesora. 3. Characteristics - Use when describing inherent quality, personality traits or characteristics that don t change. Los estudiantes son inteligentes. 4. Time - Use when telling time or giving the date. Not limited to clock time. Es el dos de abril. 5. Origin - Use when telling someone s origin or nationality. Also used when telling of what something is made (where it originally came from). ESTAR PLACE. 1. Position Use when telling where someone or something is positioned. La ventana está abierta. La puerta está cerrada. 2. Location - Use when telling someone or something s location, both temporary and permanent. Ella está en el centro comercial. Madrid está en España. 3. Actions Use when describing actions in progress, the progressive tenses. Yo estoy hablando con María. 4. Conditions - Use when describing one s health or condition. La profesora está enferma. 5. Emotions - Use when describing emotions or feelings that can change. Somos cubanos. 6. Relationships use for family and friend relationships and also with religion since religion it is considered a relationship with a higher power. Use for showing posesión as well.. Yo estoy feliz. Él no está contento. Lynne es mi madre. REPASOS E-G Página 3

4 Reflexive verbs To say that people do something to or for themselves, you use reflexive verbs. For example, washing one s hands and brushing one s hair are reflexive actions because the person doing the action also receives the action. Antes de una cita, (yo) me ducho y me peino el pelo. You know that a verb is reflexive if its infinitive form ends with the letters se. The reflexive pronouns in Spanish are me, te, se, nos, and os. Each pronoun corresponds to a different subject. Here are the present-tense forms of the reflexive verb secarse: (yo) me seco (tú) te secas (ud./él/ella) se seca (nosotros/as) nos secamos (vosotros/as) os secáis (uds./ellos/ellas) se secan Some verbs have both reflexive and non-reflexive forms and usages. A verb is used in its non-reflexive form if the action is being done to someone or something else. Lavo el coche a menudo. I wash the car often. Me lavo el pelo todos los días. I wash my hair everyday. When you use a reflexive verb with parts of the body or clothing, use the definite article. Siempre te cepillas los dientes? Do you always brush your teeth? Felipe se pone los zapatos. Felipe puts on his shoes. Some common reflexive verbs: acostarse to go to bed despertarse to wake up dormirse to fall asleep sentarse to sit down bañarse to bathe oneself vestirse to dress oneself levantarse to rise divertirse to have fun cepillarse to brush oneself Possessive adjectives Possessive adjectives are used to show possession or ownership My Mi / Mis Our Your (informal) Tu / Tus Your (informal) His Her Your (formal) Su / Sus Their (fem.) Their (mas.) Your (formal) Nuestro(s) Nuestra(s) Vuestro(s) vuestra(s) Su / Sus REPASOS E-G Página 4

5 El Pretérito Regular verbs including -car, -gar & -zar endings and the irregular verbs ir and ser ) El pretérito de los verbos You use the preterite to talk about things that happened in the past. Here are the regular preterite forms of verbs ending in -ar, -er, and -ir: -ar -er / -ir é amos í imos aste asteis iste isteis ó aron ió ieron caminar comer vivir caminé caminamos comí comimos viví vivimos caminaste caminasteis comiste comisteis viviste vivisteis caminó caminaron comió comieron vivió vivieron El pretérito de los verbos ir y ser The preterite forms of ir and ser are exactly the same. fui fuiste ir and ser fuimos fuisteis EX: Carlos fue de vacaciones a las montañas. (ir) Mi equipo fue campeón escolar el año pasado. (ser) fue fueron Pretérito de los verbos que terminan en -car, -gar y -zar Remember that verbs ending in -car, -gar, or -zar have a spelling change in the yo form in the preterite. The other forms of these verbs are regular. verbos en car verbos en gar verbos en zar buscar yo busqué investigar yo investigué almorzar yo almorcé chocar yo choqué practicar yo practiqué sacar yo saqué navegar yo navegué jugar yo jugué llegar yo llegué comenzar yo comencé cruzar yo crucé empezar yo empecé REPASOS E-G Page 5

Some examples. I wash my clothes, I wash the dishes, I wash the car, I wash the windows. I wash my hands, I wash my hair, I wash my face.

Some examples. I wash my clothes, I wash the dishes, I wash the car, I wash the windows. I wash my hands, I wash my hair, I wash my face. Reflexive verbs In this presentation, we are going to look at a special group of verbs called reflexives. Let s start out by thinking of the English verb wash. List several things that you can wash. Some

Más detalles

Filma la escena! (Film the scene!) Escribe el guión! (Write the script!)

Filma la escena! (Film the scene!) Escribe el guión! (Write the script!) Did You Get It? Goal: Level p. 15 Presentación de gramática Learn how to form affirmative tú commands. Affirmative Tú Commands Regular Verbs Read the indicative sentences in the left column. Then read

Más detalles

Drop IR, and add. yo í nosotros imos nosotras. tú iste vosotros isteis vosotras. ella ió ellas ieron

Drop IR, and add. yo í nosotros imos nosotras. tú iste vosotros isteis vosotras. ella ió ellas ieron Nombre Realidades 2 Capítulo 2B El pretérito / The Preterite Study guide / Worksheet / PowerPoint To review the preterite, go to www.phschool.com/foreign_languages, and use web code jdd-0214. Important

Más detalles

Campanero (4) Te preparas rápidamente o lentamente para ir a la escuela? Contesta las preguntas, siguiendo el ejemplo.

Campanero (4) Te preparas rápidamente o lentamente para ir a la escuela? Contesta las preguntas, siguiendo el ejemplo. Please have homework 2A-1/2A-4 (Vocabulary) ready to turn in. I will collect it shortly. Campanero (4) Te preparas rápidamente o lentamente para ir a la escuela? Contesta las preguntas, siguiendo el ejemplo.

Más detalles

muchachos la mochila / las mochilas una muchacha / unas muchachas

muchachos la mochila / las mochilas una muchacha / unas muchachas Capítulo 1: Los amigos 1) ARTICLES Definite Articles: el / los Indefinite Articles: un / unos la / las una / unas Examples: el libro / los libros un muchacho / unos muchachos la mochila / las mochilas

Más detalles

Los Verbos Reflexivos

Los Verbos Reflexivos Nombre Hora Los Verbos Reflexivos Apuntes y Práctica Parte 1: Infinitives in Spanish end in / - / -. When infinitives have on the end of them, they are called verbs. The se usually means. To conjugate

Más detalles

Modal verbs combine with other verbs to form a verb phrase. The modal verb is conjugated normally, and the second verb appears as an infinitive.

Modal verbs combine with other verbs to form a verb phrase. The modal verb is conjugated normally, and the second verb appears as an infinitive. SD School Advanced Spanish Program 5: Modal & Reflexive Verbs QuikNotes Modal verbs Modal verbs combine with other verbs to form a verb phrase. The modal verb is conjugated normally, and the second verb

Más detalles

The Subjunctive Mood

The Subjunctive Mood The Subjunctive Mood The Indicative Mood -Indicates what is true The Subjunctive Mood - things that are not part of perceived reality Things we already know how to say: We know how to talk about things

Más detalles

LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS

LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS WHAT IS A REFLEXIVE VERB? LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS Reflexive verbs are verbs that reflect back to the person; a person does something to oneself. The person doing the action also receiving

Más detalles

In English, present progressive can be used to describe what is happening now, or what will happen in the future.

In English, present progressive can be used to describe what is happening now, or what will happen in the future. Present Progressive The present progressive is formed by combining the verb "to be" with the present participle. (The present participle is merely the "-ing" form of a verb.) I am studying. I am studying

Más detalles

Spanish 4 Semester 2 Grammar Review

Spanish 4 Semester 2 Grammar Review The Pluperfect Tense In Spanish the perfect tenses all use some form of the helping verb haber. The pluperfect is translated had To form the pluperfect, use the imperfect form of haber followed by the

Más detalles

Nombre fecha Clase Packet 2 Los verbos reflexivos Capítulo 2A

Nombre fecha Clase Packet 2 Los verbos reflexivos Capítulo 2A Nombre fecha Clase Packet 2 Los verbos reflexivos Capítulo 2A Please, please, please learn the concept of the Spanish reflexive verbs well. This concept is basic to your understanding of how to use verbs

Más detalles

5. Mi futuro en mi mundo

5. Mi futuro en mi mundo 5. Mi futuro en mi mundo Unidad 5 El Pasado Perfecto H.O. #10 The Past Perfect Tense (also referred to as the pluperfect) is also a compound tense and is formed by using two parts: an imperfect form of

Más detalles

Michaelson Español 1

Michaelson Español 1 Michaelson Español 1 English Grammar Connection: indicate Subject Pronouns who is being described or who does the action in a sentence. Yo = I Tú =You (familiar) Él = He Ella = She Usted =You (formal)

Más detalles

1.1- Definite and Indefinite Articles El verbo ser

1.1- Definite and Indefinite Articles El verbo ser 1.1- Definite and Indefinite Articles In Spanish, the definite and indefinite articles that accompany a noun AGREE with the noun s and. Singular Plural Masculine Feminine 1.3- El verbo ser Ser (de): I

Más detalles

Spanish 2 Final Review

Spanish 2 Final Review 1. Pretérito AR trabajar ER- comer IR escribir What are the three uses: 1. 2. 3. 2. Pretérito irregulares (p. 30) Car qu Zar c Gar gu Conjugate the following verbs. Sacar Cruzar Llegar 3. Más irregulars

Más detalles

Meta: How do I describe myself and others?

Meta: How do I describe myself and others? MP3 - LA TERCERA HISTORIA hablador / callado feliz / triste trabajador / perezoso tranquilo / estresado rápido / lento despierto / cansado fuerte / débil contento / preocupado valiente / cobarde orgulloso

Más detalles

Mandatos Formales! ! Ten-Hut! ! In this presentation,

Mandatos Formales! ! Ten-Hut! ! In this presentation, Mandatos Formales!! Ten-Hut!! In this presentation, you will learn about making commands in Spanish. = Imperative Mood (advertisements, announcements, informing someone to do something, etc.) Commands

Más detalles

Reflexive Constructions: pronouns and verbs. (Las construcciones reflexivas: los pronombres y los verbos)

Reflexive Constructions: pronouns and verbs. (Las construcciones reflexivas: los pronombres y los verbos) Reflexive Constructions: pronouns and verbs (Las construcciones reflexivas: los pronombres y los verbos) Reflexive constructions in Spanish are generally used to describe actions that people do to, or

Más detalles

Practica con gramática de octavo grado. Sí, No, no. Sí,. Nosotros. Sí, nosotros.

Practica con gramática de octavo grado. Sí, No, no. Sí,. Nosotros. Sí, nosotros. Practica con gramática de octavo grado A) Contesta la pregunta usando el presente progresivo y DOP si hay uno. 1. María Elena va a sacar las fotos que necesita en Mayagüez? Sí, 2. Carlos Enrique y Luis

Más detalles

Resumen de gramática

Resumen de gramática Nouns, Articles, and Pronouns Nouns Nouns identify people, animals, places, and things. All Spanish nouns, even if they refer to objects, are either masculine or feminine. They are also either singular

Más detalles

APUNTES: PRESENTE DE LOS VERBOS EN AR

APUNTES: PRESENTE DE LOS VERBOS EN AR Así se dice: Level 1 Capítulo 3: Gramática Nombre Fecha APUNTES: PALABRAS INTERROGATIVAS ESPAÑOL INGLÉS EJEMPLOS What? compra Luis? Luis compra una carpeta. Who? necesita una camisa nueva? José necesita

Más detalles

lunes 28/11/2016 Tú necesitas: *un lápiz / bolígrafo *un bolígrafo rojo *el cuaderno de composición

lunes 28/11/2016 Tú necesitas: *un lápiz / bolígrafo *un bolígrafo rojo *el cuaderno de composición lunes 28/11/2016 Tú necesitas: *un lápiz / bolígrafo *un bolígrafo rojo *el cuaderno de composición Learning Targets: 1. I can use prepositions to say where things are located in relation to each other.

Más detalles

Adjectives; Demonstrative

Adjectives; Demonstrative Adjectives; Demonstrative I. Introduction The demonstrative adjectives in English are this, that, these, and those. They are used to point out specific people or things. In Spanish the demonstrative adjectives

Más detalles

LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS. Sra. Gonzalez * MHHS

LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS. Sra. Gonzalez * MHHS LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS La formación de verbos ALL reflexive verbs take a reflexive pronoun Reflexive verbs refer back to the person doing the action Ejemplos de verbos Lavarse Banarse Afeitarse Cepillarse

Más detalles

The Future and the Future of Probability

The Future and the Future of Probability The Future and the Future of Probability (El futuro y el futuro de probabilidad) Las nuevas microcomputadoras serán aún más pequeñas. The Spanish future tense is formed with only one set of endings for

Más detalles

Did You Get It? Irregular yo Verbs. UNIDAD 3 Lección 1. Study the conjugation of the following verbs. hago. pongo. salgo.

Did You Get It? Irregular yo Verbs. UNIDAD 3 Lección 1. Study the conjugation of the following verbs. hago. pongo. salgo. Did u Get It? Goal: Level 2 p. 149 Presentación de gramática Learn about the irregular forms of some present-tense verbs. Irregular Verbs Study the conjugation of the following verbs. hacer (to do/to make)

Más detalles

The Present Progressive. (El presente progresivo)

The Present Progressive. (El presente progresivo) The Present Progressive (El presente progresivo) En este momento / ahora mismo (Right now) Unlike English, Spanish may use the simple present tense to express ongoing action: Hablo español por teléfono.

Más detalles

Capítulo 4. 1 Complete each statement with the appropriate family member.

Capítulo 4. 1 Complete each statement with the appropriate family member. Capítulo 4 Lección A 1 Complete each statement with the appropriate family member. 1. El hermano de mi madre es mi. 2. La madre de mi madre es mi. 3. La hija de mis tíos es mi. 4. La esposa de mi tío es

Más detalles

El presente. Verbos irregulares en el presente. Sra. Gonzalez Mt Hebron High School

El presente. Verbos irregulares en el presente. Sra. Gonzalez Mt Hebron High School El presente Verbos irregulares en el presente Verbos irregulares en el presente There are a number of irregular verbs in every verb tense in Spanish. Can u name ten? While some patterns do exist, these

Más detalles

(a review) -ER Verbs and -IR verbs (the new guys!)

(a review) -ER Verbs and -IR verbs (the new guys!) -AR Verbs (a review) -ER Verbs and -IR verbs (the new guys!) -AR / -ER / -IR Verb Families! Working with your TIBURON, use un diccionario inglés-español to write these verbs in their proper places! montar

Más detalles

LA TAREA Libro de Trabajo p. 129 130. HAGAN AHORA Write down anything that comes to mind when you think of air travel.

LA TAREA Libro de Trabajo p. 129 130. HAGAN AHORA Write down anything that comes to mind when you think of air travel. LA TAREA Libro de Trabajo p. 129 130 HAGAN AHORA Write down anything that comes to mind when you think of air travel. 1 Oración: Padre Nuestro La Señal de la Cruz En el nombre del Padre, y del Hijo, y

Más detalles

Verbs in the Present Tense (Los verbos en el tiempo presente) First conjugation: -ar

Verbs in the Present Tense (Los verbos en el tiempo presente) First conjugation: -ar Verbs in the Present Tense (Los verbos en el tiempo presente) First conjugation: -ar The fundamental parts of the Spanish verb The infinitive: The basic, unconjugated form, the one that corresponds to

Más detalles

LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS

LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS WHAT IS A REFLEXIVE VERB? LA RUTINA DIARIA & LOS VERBOS REFLEXIVOS Reflexive verbs are verbs that. The person the action also the action. HOW DO YOU KNOW WHEN THE VERB IS REFLEXIVE? When the letters are

Más detalles

Buenos días! Hoy es jueves, el dos de febrero, dos mil doce.

Buenos días! Hoy es jueves, el dos de febrero, dos mil doce. Buenos días! Hoy es jueves, el dos de febrero, dos mil doce. Meta: cómo hablamos en el pasado? Hagan ahora: escriben las oraciones en el pasado en el buen orden con todas correcciones. 1. El/en/comprar/yo/de/los/acabar/Rastro/hoy

Más detalles

Un viaje en avión. Capítulo 11. la pantalla de salidas y llegadas. el aeropuerto. el maletero (a) el taxi. el agente. la agente. el billete el boleto

Un viaje en avión. Capítulo 11. la pantalla de salidas y llegadas. el aeropuerto. el maletero (a) el taxi. el agente. la agente. el billete el boleto Capítulo 11 el aeropuerto Un viaje en avión la pantalla de salidas y llegadas el maletero (a) el taxi la agente el agente el pasaporte el billete el boleto el mostrador Table of Contents Page Date 132

Más detalles

Los Mandatos Commands Por: Martha Abeille Profesora de Español

Los Mandatos Commands Por: Martha Abeille Profesora de Español Los Mandatos Commands Por: Martha Abeille Profesora de Español MENU Meaning Types of Mandatos (Commands) Mandatos with Irregular verbs Mandatos and Direct and Indirect Objects Exercise Press the Esc Key

Más detalles

Making comparisons. In this slide show, we ll look at ways of expressing differences and similarities.

Making comparisons. In this slide show, we ll look at ways of expressing differences and similarities. Making comparisons In this slide show, we ll look at ways of expressing differences and similarities. Three cases Look at these three sentences: Fred is as tall as John. Fred is taller than Bob. Fred is

Más detalles

Cómo es tu casa? Realidades 1 Capítulo 6B. Nombre Hora

Cómo es tu casa? Realidades 1 Capítulo 6B. Nombre Hora Cómo es tu casa? Realidades 1 Capítulo 6B Nombre Hora P299 Act1 La casa de Elena jcd-0697! 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. B A I C D E H G F P299 Act2 Es lógico o no? jcd-0697! 1.! " 5.! " 2.! " 6.! " 3.! " 7.!

Más detalles

Affirmative Informal Tú Commands. Tú commands are the singular form of informal commands.

Affirmative Informal Tú Commands. Tú commands are the singular form of informal commands. Affirmative Informal Tú Commands Tú commands are the singular form of informal commands. Use the affirmative tú command to: To tell a friend, family member, classmate, child, or pet to do something. Mar

Más detalles

INTRODUCCIÓN. Qué ya sabemos de los verbos er y las conjugaciones? Qué necesitamos aprender para poder conjugar y usar los verbos er?

INTRODUCCIÓN. Qué ya sabemos de los verbos er y las conjugaciones? Qué necesitamos aprender para poder conjugar y usar los verbos er? LOS VERBOS ER INTRODUCCIÓN Qué ya sabemos de los verbos er y las conjugaciones? Qué necesitamos aprender para poder conjugar y usar los verbos er? OBJETIVO Al final de esta lección, vas a poder conjugar

Más detalles

SPN 2 MIDTERM REVIEW. (Staple your vocabulary sheets & grammar notes to each chapter) Capítulo El joven vio en versión original.

SPN 2 MIDTERM REVIEW. (Staple your vocabulary sheets & grammar notes to each chapter) Capítulo El joven vio en versión original. SPN 2 MIDTERM REVIEW Nombre: (Staple ur vocabulary sheets & grammar notes to each chapter) Capítulo 10 I. Vocabulario: El Cine: 1. Los alumnos van al cine. Van a a las ocho. 2. El joven vio en versión

Más detalles

Guapo Using Ser and Tener to Describe People

Guapo Using Ser and Tener to Describe People Guapo Using Ser and Tener to Describe People This document teaches the central piece of grammar in Guapo how to describe people using the verbs ser and tener as seen in these lyrics: Soy guapo. Tiene ojos

Más detalles

Remember that adjectives describe nouns: people, places, and things. The following is a list of some common adjectives in Spanish.

Remember that adjectives describe nouns: people, places, and things. The following is a list of some common adjectives in Spanish. Guided Practice Activities PE-1 Adjectives (p. 3) Remember that adjectives describe nouns: people, places, and things. The following is a list of some common adjectives in Spanish. Masculine Feminine Singular

Más detalles

The present participle of -ar verbs adds to the verrb stem the ending -ando. For -er and -ir verbs the ending is -iendo.

The present participle of -ar verbs adds to the verrb stem the ending -ando. For -er and -ir verbs the ending is -iendo. SD School Advanced Spanish Program 3: Verb Tenses QuikNotes The present progressive The present progressive describes something that is happening at the same time you speak about it. It is formed with

Más detalles

Subject Pronouns. 1st person. 2nd person. 3rd person. nosotros = we (male only or male & female) nosotras = we (female only) yo = I

Subject Pronouns. 1st person. 2nd person. 3rd person. nosotros = we (male only or male & female) nosotras = we (female only) yo = I SINGULAR Subject Pronouns PLURAL 1st person yo = I nosotros = we (male only or male & female) nosotras = we (female only) 2nd person tú = you (informal, familiar) usted (Ud.) = you (formal) vosotros =

Más detalles

Introduction. SER is one of three verbs in Spanish that mean to be. SER has a variety of uses and meanings. SER has an irregular conjugation.

Introduction. SER is one of three verbs in Spanish that mean to be. SER has a variety of uses and meanings. SER has an irregular conjugation. SER To be Introduction SER is one of three verbs in Spanish that mean to be SER has a variety of uses and meanings. SER has an irregular conjugation. Conjugation and Translation SER= to be 1st (yo) Soy

Más detalles

TELLING TIME IN SPANISH

TELLING TIME IN SPANISH Nombre: Hora: TELLING TIME IN SPANISH Qué hora es? = ( ) ( ) 12:00 noon= 12:00 midnight= de la mañana =(a.m.) de la tarde =(p.m.) de la noche = (p.m.) Choose one to start! Es la. OR Son las. Add + y +

Más detalles

Subject pronouns. In this presentation, we re going to look at the form and use of the subject pronouns in Spanish.

Subject pronouns. In this presentation, we re going to look at the form and use of the subject pronouns in Spanish. Subject pronouns In this presentation, we re going to look at the form and use of the subject pronouns in Spanish. Let s get started! Compare these two sentences: Jorge es mexicano. Él es mexicano. In

Más detalles

Resumen de gramática. Grammar Terms. What is that? Who are you? Nouns name people, places, or things: students, Mexico City, books.

Resumen de gramática. Grammar Terms. What is that? Who are you? Nouns name people, places, or things: students, Mexico City, books. Resumen de gramática Grammar Terms Adjectives describe nouns: a red car. Adverbs usually describe verbs; they tell when, where, or how an action happens: He read it quickly. Adverbs can also describe adjectives

Más detalles

Pretérito TO TALK ABOUT THE PAST 1. Pretérito verbos regulares -AR ER IR

Pretérito TO TALK ABOUT THE PAST 1. Pretérito verbos regulares -AR ER IR Pretérito 1. Pretérito verbos regulares -AR ER IR TRABAJAR Yo trabaj-é Tú trabaj-aste Él, ella Ud. trabaj-ó Nosotros/as trabaj-amos Vosotros/as trabaj-asteis Ellos/as, Uds. trabaj-aron COMER Yo com-í Tú

Más detalles

Adjectives (p. 3) 1. Mi amiga Karla es alt. 2. Mi tía es una mujer ordenad. 3. Mi abuelo es un hombre desordenad. 4. Ese chico es muy gracios.

Adjectives (p. 3) 1. Mi amiga Karla es alt. 2. Mi tía es una mujer ordenad. 3. Mi abuelo es un hombre desordenad. 4. Ese chico es muy gracios. Adjectives (p. 3) Guided Practice Activities PE-1 Remember that adjectives describe nouns: people, places, and things. The following is a list of some common adjectives in Spanish. Masculine Feminine Singular

Más detalles

Spanish 3 Final Exam. Grammar Review

Spanish 3 Final Exam. Grammar Review Spanish 3 Final Exam Grammar Review Regular Verbs in the preterit Pronouns Ar endings Er endings Ir endings Yo é í í Tú aste iste iste Él, ella, Ud. ó ió ió Nosotros amos imos imos Ellos, ellas, aron ieron

Más detalles

Do-Now: en los cuadernos, con la meta

Do-Now: en los cuadernos, con la meta Do-Now: en los cuadernos, con la meta tense sound/look different Copy and translate the following sentences: Ayer, yo arreglé mi cuarto. Mi hermanastra lavó y dobló la ropa. Mi padre cortó el cesped. The

Más detalles

Verb Conjugation. How to express yourself using regular verbs in Spanish.

Verb Conjugation. How to express yourself using regular verbs in Spanish. Verb Conjugation How to express yourself using regular verbs in Spanish. What is a verb? A verb expresses action. It means to do something to walk, to talk, to dance, to sing, to run, etc. Verb Conjugation????

Más detalles

Conjugate comprar in the preterite:

Conjugate comprar in the preterite: PRETERITE TENSE: (EL PRETÉRITO) Spanish has 2 ways of speaking about the past tense. The Preterite is 1 of them. PRETERITE -ar verb endings yo -é nosotros/as -amos tú -aste vosotros/as -asteis usted -ó

Más detalles

Los Verbos Reflexivos

Los Verbos Reflexivos Nombre Hora Los Verbos Reflexivos Apuntes y Práctica Parte 1: Infinitives in Spanish end in - ar / - er / - ir. When infinitives have se on the end of them, they are called reflexive verbs. The se usually

Más detalles

Español II Repaso de los capítulos 1-3B y Para empezar. The verb ser is used to express The verb tener is used in the expressions:

Español II Repaso de los capítulos 1-3B y Para empezar. The verb ser is used to express The verb tener is used in the expressions: Español II Repaso de los capítulos 1-3B y Para empezar Para empezar: Cómo eres tú y qué haces? : Los verbos ser y tener: ser tener The verb ser is used to express The verb tener is used in the expressions:

Más detalles

Realidades 2. Los Verbos Reflexivos Capítulo 2A

Realidades 2. Los Verbos Reflexivos Capítulo 2A Realidades 2 Los Verbos Reflexivos Capítulo 2A 1. Nos preparamos para la fiesta Isabel y Elena se preparan para ir a una fiesta de quinceañera. Escribe el pronombre reflexivo correcto en el espacio para

Más detalles

Nombre Fecha Periodo Español II Tarea #1 La escuela y la vida social Felicia y su problema

Nombre Fecha Periodo Español II Tarea #1 La escuela y la vida social Felicia y su problema Español II Tarea #1 La escuela y la vida social Felicia y su problema Parte I Lee el cuento. Hay una chica bella que se llama Felicia. Ella vive en Aguas Calientes con su familia. Tiene quince años y asiste

Más detalles

Unidad 2 Etapa 2 Nivel 1 Guía de Estudiar

Unidad 2 Etapa 2 Nivel 1 Guía de Estudiar Unidad 2 Etapa 2 Nivel 1 Guía de Estudiar I. Escuchar. Fill in times based on what you hear. (5 pts) II. Oral. Answer the questions. (5 pts) 1. Qué tomas en el almuerzo? Yo tomo (una hamburguesa, agua,

Más detalles

ellos= ellas= ustedes=

ellos= ellas= ustedes= Name: Hora: yo= nosotros= nosotras= tú= vosotros= vosotras= él= ella= usted= ellos= ellas= ustedes= 1 EXPLANATION: Subject pronouns are used as the subject of a sentence. In general, they tell who is being

Más detalles

Gustar : Indirect object pronouns.

Gustar : Indirect object pronouns. Gustar : Indirect object pronouns. Singular Plural 1 person A mí me (To me) A nosotros nos (To us) 2 person A tí te ( To you) A vosotros os (To you all in Spain) 3 person A ella/él/ud. Le (To her, to him,

Más detalles

vosotras= vosotros= él= ellos= ella= ellas= usted= ustedes= Subject pronouns are used as the subject of a sentence. In general, they tell who is being

vosotras= vosotros= él= ellos= ella= ellas= usted= ustedes= Subject pronouns are used as the subject of a sentence. In general, they tell who is being Nombre Clase Fecha (pronombres personales) Subject pronouns are used as the subject of a sentence. In general, they tell who is being described or who is doing the action. English has seven subject pronouns

Más detalles

WORKSHEET CÓMO ESTÁS? SENTIMIENTOS HOW ARE YOU? FEELINGS LEVEL 1

WORKSHEET CÓMO ESTÁS? SENTIMIENTOS HOW ARE YOU? FEELINGS LEVEL 1 WORKSHEET CÓMO ESTÁS? SENTIMIENTOS HOW ARE YOU? FEELINGS LEVEL 1 CÓMO ESTÁS? SENTIMIENTOS HOW ARE YOU? FEELINGS 1 1. Vamos a cantar! Aprende la canción de Cómo estás? CÓMO ESTÁS? SENTIMIENTOS HOW ARE YOU?

Más detalles

Cuál son tus pasatiempos favoritos en la ciudad y en el campo / las montañas?

Cuál son tus pasatiempos favoritos en la ciudad y en el campo / las montañas? Trabajo del Día el 28 de abríl del 2011 Cuál son tus pasatiempos favoritos en la ciudad y en el campo / las montañas? Tres frases, por lo menos, en español. El Horario 1) Trabajo del Día 2) La Oración

Más detalles

The present tense in Spanish is used to express both the English simple present (I speak) and the English continuous present form (I am speaking).

The present tense in Spanish is used to express both the English simple present (I speak) and the English continuous present form (I am speaking). PRESENT TENSE The present tense in Spanish is used to express both the English simple present (I speak) and the English continuous present form (I am speaking). Nosotros comemos Yo leo We eat or we are

Más detalles

Lo qué será, será y muchas cosas pasarán

Lo qué será, será y muchas cosas pasarán Lo qué será, será y muchas cosas pasarán El Tiempo Futuro Formas y Usos del Tiempo futuro en español In Spanish, there are several ways to express future events without actually using the future tense!

Más detalles

13 DECEMBER (DICIEMBRE) 2015 NAME (NOMBRE) H O M E W O R K # 8 (TAREA # 8)

13 DECEMBER (DICIEMBRE) 2015 NAME (NOMBRE) H O M E W O R K # 8 (TAREA # 8) 13 DECEMBER (DICIEMBRE) 2015 NAME (NOMBRE) ------- ----- H O M E W O R K # 8 (TAREA # 8) 1) Estudiar la conjugación de los verbos irregulares con terminación ir. Study the conjugation of the irregular

Más detalles

SD School Advanced Spanish Program 7: Subjunctive & Formal Commands. QuikNotes. The Subjunctive

SD School Advanced Spanish Program 7: Subjunctive & Formal Commands. QuikNotes. The Subjunctive SD School Advanced Spanish Program 7: Subjunctive & Formal Commands QuikNotes The Subjunctive The subjunctive is a verb form that derives its name from its use in complex sentences, where it is subordinate

Más detalles

3. Respuestas cortas 12 puntos Contestar 4 preguntas sobre la escuela, actividades extracurriculares, celebraciones, y tu verano

3. Respuestas cortas 12 puntos Contestar 4 preguntas sobre la escuela, actividades extracurriculares, celebraciones, y tu verano El primer BENCHMARK será el jueves, 29 de octubre 2015. Formato del examen: Opción múltiple 56 puntos a. 1-44 Completa la frase o contesta la pregunta b. 45-52 SAT 2 Párrafo de preparación c. 53-56 Comprensión

Más detalles

Quiero comer comida china I want to eat Chinese food Me gusta bailar I like to dance

Quiero comer comida china I want to eat Chinese food Me gusta bailar I like to dance In Spanish, many useful expressions are formed by combining two verbs. When this occurs, the first verb is conjugated, while the second verb remains in the infinitive form. Quiero comer comida china I

Más detalles

Español 1. Repaso para el examen semestral

Español 1. Repaso para el examen semestral Español 1 Repaso para el examen semestral Para empezar (las páginas 1-23) Saludos y despedidas, presentaciones: complete the following conversation with the missing word or phrase. Then, go back and write

Más detalles

El Subjuntivo. How to form present subjunctive: Step 1: Step 2: Step 3: verbs. él, ella, Usted. nosotros/as. vosotros/as.

El Subjuntivo. How to form present subjunctive: Step 1: Step 2: Step 3: verbs. él, ella, Usted. nosotros/as. vosotros/as. El Subjuntivo Spanish has three "moods" 1. Indicative - this includes all the verb tenses you have learned so far: present, preterit, imperfect, future, conditional 2. Imperative - commands 3. Subjunctive

Más detalles

Possessive Adjectives. (Los adjetivos posesivos)

Possessive Adjectives. (Los adjetivos posesivos) Possessive Adjectives (Los adjetivos posesivos) (the ones that always occur before a noun) The possessive adjectives that are used with a masculine singular noun are as follows: mi (my) nuestro (our) tu

Más detalles

FIRST SEMESTER Spanish 1 PB ~ 3a

FIRST SEMESTER Spanish 1 PB ~ 3a FIRST SEMESTER Spanish 1 PB ~ 3a 1-2 Greetings 3-4 Introduction 5 Numbers 6 Alphabets 7 Colors 8 Body Parts/ Emotion 9 Time 10 Weather/ Season 11 Calendar 12 Gustar/Encantar Fascinar 13 Present Tense Conjugation

Más detalles

Hola. Regular/más o menos Terrible. Gracias

Hola. Regular/más o menos Terrible. Gracias Español 1 6o grado Profe Crowe Guía de estudio Unidad 1, etapa 1 Bienvenido a Miami! Nombre: Clase: Fecha: español SALUDOS Cómo está usted? Cómo estás? Qué tal? Qué pasa? Qué más? Hola Estoy... (No muy)

Más detalles

Estación Uno: Date, Weather, and How you feel

Estación Uno: Date, Weather, and How you feel Estación Uno: Date, Weather, and How you feel Learning Target: We are learning to write the date, talk about the weather outside, and state how we feel.. Criteria for Success: I can write the date in Spanish.

Más detalles

Lección preliminar. Cómo te llamas?: Soy Raquel. Mis amigas se llaman Carmen, Me llamo Miguel. Ana y Sara. Nosotras somos de España. Soy de Cuba.

Lección preliminar. Cómo te llamas?: Soy Raquel. Mis amigas se llaman Carmen, Me llamo Miguel. Ana y Sara. Nosotras somos de España. Soy de Cuba. Lección preliminar Cómo te llamas?: Soy Raquel. Mis amigas se llaman Carmen, Me llamo Miguel. Soy de Cuba. Tengo 17 años. Ana y Sara. Nosotras somos de España. Tenemos 16 años. A nosotras nos gusta escuchar

Más detalles

Might. Área Lectura y Escritura. In order to understand the use of the modal verb might we will check some examples:

Might. Área Lectura y Escritura. In order to understand the use of the modal verb might we will check some examples: Might Área Lectura y Escritura Resultados de aprendizaje Conocer el uso del verbo modal might. Aplicar el verbo modal might en ejercicios de escritura. Contenidos 1. Verbo modal might. Debo saber - Verbos

Más detalles

Spanish I verbs & grammar- Para Empezar - Chapter 5A

Spanish I verbs & grammar- Para Empezar - Chapter 5A Spanish I verbs & grammar- Para Empezar - Chapter 5A Know how to conjugate: Regular AR verbs O AMOS AS ÁIS A AN 1. bailar (1A) 2. cantar (1A) 3. celebrar (5A) 4. decorar (5A) 5. dibujar (1A) 6. enseñar

Más detalles

Study Guide Chapter Test

Study Guide Chapter Test In this chapter you will learn to do the following: 1. to talk about your family 2. describe your home 3. tell your age and find out someone else s age 4. tell what you have to do 5. tell what you are

Más detalles

Pronombres, verbos infinitivos y conjugación en español. Hoy es martes, 13 de octubre de 2015

Pronombres, verbos infinitivos y conjugación en español. Hoy es martes, 13 de octubre de 2015 Pronombres, verbos infinitivos y conjugación en español Hoy es martes, 13 de octubre de 2015 C H A M P C Level 0-2 H Raise your hand A Direct Teaching M With permission ONLY! P Level 2 when asked & taking

Más detalles

Sep 25 7:31 PM. Sep 25 7:56 PM. Sep 25 7:56 PM. In Spanish, the verb haber is used as a helping verb in the compound tenses.

Sep 25 7:31 PM. Sep 25 7:56 PM. Sep 25 7:56 PM. In Spanish, the verb haber is used as a helping verb in the compound tenses. Pablo y Marta estando conversando por teléfono en la noche. Lee su conversación. De qué están hablando? Marta: Aló? Pablo: Hola, Marta. Habla Pablo. Qué tal? Marta: Bien, y tú? Pablo: Fantástico. Qué has

Más detalles

Español II El pretérito vs. el imperfecto

Español II El pretérito vs. el imperfecto Español II El pretérito vs. el imperfecto TASKS: 1) Saquen Uds.una hoja de papel 2) Saquen Uds. su tarea de viernes (repaso del imperfecto) 3) Saquen sus tajetas de vocabulario 3) Estudien sus tarjetas

Más detalles

CAPITULO 2A SCHOOL SUBJECTS AND OBJECTS, SUBJECT PRONOUNS, PRESENT TENSE AR VERBS

CAPITULO 2A SCHOOL SUBJECTS AND OBJECTS, SUBJECT PRONOUNS, PRESENT TENSE AR VERBS CAPITULO 2A SCHOOL SUBJECTS AND OBJECTS, SUBJECT PRONOUNS, PRESENT TENSE AR VERBS to talk about your school day el almuerzo lunch la clase class la clase de... class of... arte art español Spanish ciencias

Más detalles

Describe people and things in Spanish. Use the correct form of the verb SER (To Be) Use the correct Subject Pronouns in Spanish.

Describe people and things in Spanish. Use the correct form of the verb SER (To Be) Use the correct Subject Pronouns in Spanish. Nombre: Fecha: Período Día Avancemos Undiad 1: Students will be able to: Describe people and things in Spanish. Use the correct form of the verb SER (To Be) Use the correct Subject Pronouns in Spanish.

Más detalles

Cómo se forma el presente progresivo? (es un tiempo compuesto y tiene partes)

Cómo se forma el presente progresivo? (es un tiempo compuesto y tiene partes) Me llamo la fecha la hora El presente progresivo Para describir una acción que está pasando en ese momento (ahorita mismo) en español se usa el tiempo compuesto que se llama. Este tiempo compuesto expresa

Más detalles

Do-Now -En los cuadernos, con la meta

Do-Now -En los cuadernos, con la meta Do-Now -En los cuadernos, con la meta Hoy es el doce de septiembre de dos mil diecisiete. Meta: How do I use irregular verbs in Spanish? Conjuga en el presente Hablar (usted) Cantar (ellos) Comer (yo)

Más detalles

Tarea: Meta :Students will be able to identify clothing en Español. Actividad : El Tiempo Cómo se dice? Tarea 1.1.1

Tarea: Meta :Students will be able to identify clothing en Español. Actividad : El Tiempo Cómo se dice? Tarea 1.1.1 Meta :Students will be able to identify clothing en Español. Actividad : El Tiempo Cómo se dice? 1. 2. 3. 4. Hace frío. Tarea: Hace mal tiempo. Hay tormenta. Tarea 1.1.1 Llueve. Está lloviendo. Hace viento.

Más detalles

Definite and Indefinite Articles. Fill in the blank using definite articles (el, la, los, las) and the noun in Spanish.

Definite and Indefinite Articles. Fill in the blank using definite articles (el, la, los, las) and the noun in Spanish. Definite and Indefinite Articles Nombre: Fill in the blank using definite articles (el, la, los, las) and the noun in Spanish. 1. the calculator 11. the calculators 2. the teacher 12. the teachers 3. the

Más detalles

SPANISH 101. LECCIÓN PRELIMINAR

SPANISH 101. LECCIÓN PRELIMINAR VERBO SER (to describe) Yo soy Tú eres Usted es Él/Ella es Nosotros/-as somos Vosotros/-as sois Ustedes son Ellos/Ellas son SPANISH 101. LECCIÓN PRELIMINAR Remember that even though usted and él/ella share

Más detalles

The indefinite articles un and una are used to say a or an before a singular noun

The indefinite articles un and una are used to say a or an before a singular noun The indefinite articles un and una are used to say a or an before a singular noun Necesito un diccionario. I need a dictionary. The indefinite articles unos and unas are used to say some before a plural

Más detalles

Relative Pronouns (que, quien, el que)

Relative Pronouns (que, quien, el que) Relative Pronouns (que, quien, el que) Pronouns are words that refer to a noun. Therefore, relative pronouns refer to a noun that has previously been stated. Another way to look at relative pronouns is

Más detalles

Nombre: Fecha: Período Día. 1) Describing people: What are you like? Cómico/a-gracioso/a

Nombre: Fecha: Período Día. 1) Describing people: What are you like? Cómico/a-gracioso/a Nombre: Fecha: Período Día Así se dice: Capítulo 1: Cómo somos? Página 22 veintidós. Learning Goals: Students will be able to: Describe people and things in Spanish. Tell someone s nationality. Use the

Más detalles

Español 2 Final Exam Review Topics

Español 2 Final Exam Review Topics My final exam is on at in room Español 2 Final Exam Review Topics Vocabulario Cap. 4: Vamos de vacaciones Travel vocabulary Airport/vacation Planning a trip Activities one can do on vacation Cap. 5: La

Más detalles

1. A Fede le gusta mucho estudiar. El es. 2. La mujer tienes ochenta años. Ella es. 3. A la estudiante no le gusta estudiar ni trabajar. Ella es.

1. A Fede le gusta mucho estudiar. El es. 2. La mujer tienes ochenta años. Ella es. 3. A la estudiante no le gusta estudiar ni trabajar. Ella es. Español 1 Study Guide for Final Complete the sentence with your vocabulary. 1. A Fede le gusta mucho estudiar. El es. 2. La mujer tienes ochenta años. Ella es. 3. A la estudiante no le gusta estudiar ni

Más detalles

Unit 5: Las vacaciones

Unit 5: Las vacaciones Unit 5: Las vacaciones Students will learn how discuss and plan a vacation, describe a hotel, talk about how you feel, talk about seasons and weather. FINAL DE LA UNIDAD: 8 de febrero Escuchar Ser and

Más detalles

Welcome to Lesson B of Story Time for Spanish

Welcome to Lesson B of Story Time for Spanish Spanish Lesson B Welcome to Lesson B of Story Time for Spanish Story Time is a program designed for students who have already taken high school or college courses or students who have completed other language

Más detalles

Fun with infinitives

Fun with infinitives Fun with infinitives Fun with Infinitives Infinitives in Spanish are unassigned actions that when translated into English always start with the word to. Spanish- CANTAR English- to sing Fun with Infinitives

Más detalles